Travelling in Australia 2020

Everything you 'need to know' and where to go post the Covid19 lockdown.

Your breakaway holiday guide - post Coronavirus
(updated 25th November 2020)

With lock-down restrictions set to be relaxed relaxing many of us will be looking to get out of the house and have a breakaway holiday.

Which state you live in will dictate when you can have your breakaway holiday and where you can, with most initial trips likely to be restricted to destinations within your home state. Regardless of where you go, social distancing will still be encouraged, so make sure you pack your Scrubba wash bag to avoid needing to use public washing machines or common facilities.

To help you plan your lock-down breakaway holiday we have compiled the latest guidance on travel restrictions and a list of our top ten destinations for each state.

Latest Updates On State Restrictions & Where To Go

The ACT border is closed to travellers from Victoria.
The New South Wales border reopened to Victoria on Monday November 23.

The borders of New South Wales have been closed to Victoria since July 7.

NSW borders are now open to all states.

Travellers from South Australia arriving in the Northern Territory are required to undergo mandatory supervised quarantine, effective immediately (Monday November 16).

People who arrive in the NT today will also have the choice to return to South Australia immediately instead of undergoing quarantine.

The NT has officially declared South Australia as a COVID-19 hotspot

From November 2 travellers from regional Victoria have been allowed to enter the Northern Territory without quarantining for two weeks.

The Greater Sydney area was removed from the Northern Territory’s coronavirus hotspot list on October 9.

Greater Melbourne is still considered a coronavirus hot spot and travellers from this region are excluded from travelling to the NT
Queensland will allow residents from Greater Sydney and Victoria to enter the state from December 1.

Queensland opened its borders to parts of New South Wales on November 3, but that excluded people from, or anyone who had traveled through, 32 LGAs (Local Government Areas) in Greater Sydney.

Queensland borders are closed to Adelaide arrivals (as at 11:59pm, Monday November 16), and the Qld Government has declared Adelaide a COVID-19 hotspot. Arrivals must undergo hotel quarantine.

Anyone in Queensland who has been to Adelaide since Monday November 7 has been asked to immediately get a COVID-19 test and to self-isolate, regardless of whether they have symptoms or not.

Queensland’s border reopened to residents of the ACT on September 25.

The Queensland border remains closed to Victoria.

Anyone crossing the border into Queensland also requires a Queensland Entry Pass.

Travellers from South Australia arriving in Tasmania are now required to quarantine, in a ‘suitable residence’ or a government hotel.

Also, anyone currently in Tasmania who has spent time in South Australia since last Monday (November 9) has been asked to immediately self-isolate at their home or in accommodation.

The Tasmanian border will open to Victoria on November 27, ahead of the previously-planned date of December 1.

This means people travelling into Tasmania from Victoria will be allowed to quarantine at home, instead of a government-run hotel.

However, the early reopening will be dependent on Victoria’s coronavirus cases remaining low.

Tasmania’s border reopened to travellers from New South Wales on November 6.

From October 26, residents of South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland, the Northern Territory and the ACT have been able to enter Tasmania without quarantining.

Anyone wanting to enter Victoria from South Australia now requires a permit.

The permit system comes after Victoria shut its border for 48 hours on Thursday as contact tracers in Adelaide raced to control the spread of COVID-19.

Before now, the borders of Victoria have always remained open to incoming travellers from interstate throughout the pandemic.

Anyone arriving in Western Australia from South Australia now needs to be tested for COVID-19 and must self-quarantine for 14 days.

These arrivals will also be tested for COVID-19 on day 11 of their self-quarantine.

Exceptions on compassionate grounds will be considered.

Australians from any other state are allowed to travel into and around Western Australia without quarantining, with the exception of some remote Aboriginal community areas. There is one condition – states must records a 14-day rolling average of less than five community virus cases per day.

Travel WA
South Australia will re-open its border with Victoria on December 1.

South Australia is already open to travellers from every other state.

Travel SA